Policy ESDB-031: Service Areas for Schools for the Deaf

Status: ADOPTED

Original Adopted Date: 09/07/2023 | Last Reviewed Date: 09/07/2023

NORTH CAROLINA STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Policy Manual

Item	Description	
Policy Title	Service Areas for Schools for the Deaf	
Policy Category	Educational Services for the Deaf and Blind (ESDB)	
Policy ID	ESDB-031	
Policy Date	09-07-2023	
Previous Policy Dates		
tatutory Reference G.S. 115C-150.11		
NC Administrative Code		

The North Carolina School for the Deaf and the Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf provide educational services in Pre-K through Grade 12 for North Carolina residents under 21 years of age who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, based on the county in which each student is domiciled. A student may be admitted if he or she meets the admissions criteria established for that school. In accordance with G.S. 115C-150.11(a), the State Board of Education has established the following geographic service areas for each school.

North Carolina School for the Deaf (Morganton, NC)

Alexander	Cleveland	Macon	Stanly
Alleghany	Davidson	Madison	Stokes
Anson	Davie	McDowell	Surry
Ashe	Forsyth	Mecklenburg	Swain
Avery	Gaston	Mitchell	Transylvania
Buncombe	Graham	Montgomery	Union
Burke	Guilford	Polk	Watauga
Cabarrus	Haywood	Randolph	Wilkes
Caldwell	Henderson	Richmond	Yadkin
Catawba	Iredell	Rockingham	Yancey
Cherokee	Jackson	Rowan	
Clay	Lincoln	Rutherford	

Eastern North Carolina School for the Deaf (Wilson, NC)

Alamance	Dare	Jones	Person
Beaufort	Duplin	Lee	Pitt
Bertie	Durham	Lenoir	Robeson
Bladen	Edgecombe	Martin	Sampson
Brunswick	Franklin	Moore	Scotland
Camden	Gates	Nash	Tyrrell
Carteret	Granville	New Hanover	Vance
Caswell	Greene	Northampton	Wake
Chatham	Halifax	Onslow	Warren
Chowan	Harnett	Orange	Washington
Columbus	Hertford	Pamlico	Wayne
Craven	Hoke	Pasquotank	Wilson
Cumberland	Hyde	Pender	
Currituck	Johnston	Perquimans	